The One

The pressure of finding the perfect relationship in high school clouded everyone’s minds. If you didnt have a stable partner it was because you were “easy” or too focused on which party you’d be going to on Friday night. I wasn’t much of a party girl and that was mostly because of my anxieties. I pictured myself standing alone in the corner with a water, while everyone else enjoyed themselves and the company around them. Embarrassing, I know. I avoided all scenes that were crowded by kids who couldn’t handle their liquor, which happened to be every weekend of my life. 

I was one of just a few girls who kept her head in the books at all times. I was too concerned over which assignments on the syllabus I could complete ahead of time, which automatically gave me the “nerd” title. But I was okay with that. I didn’t need acceptance from anyone but myself (if only). Okay, in reality, I wanted everyone to like me. But I wasn’t willing to do anything to put myself at the top of the list. I was pretty sure I wasn’t a stranger to anyone, considering how much people already knew about me. It was just a matter of replacing the bad rumors, with the good ones. But who was going to bite the bait?

I didn’t have many friends in my high school science class. I drifted off, many times, while twirling my hair between my finger tips and chewing a piece of gum that had no flavor. There was a student who acted out everytime class met. I wasn’t sure if it was for attention or because he really had no desire to sit and listen to the lecture. The day his seat was moved next to mine, there was no turning back. I didn’t know what I was in for but I hopped in for the ride and pulled my seatbelt tightly across my waist. Please, take me far away. 

I thought I had found the one. This was it, I didn’t have to go searching anymore. The pressures around me slowly crept away and I felt like I was finally able to grasp a fresh breath of air. The dark clouds became clearer and the sun beamed against my pale skin. Little did I know, the sun wouldn’t hang around me for too long. 

You should all hop in, I have a new story to tell. But will you bite the bait? 

1 thought on “The One”

  1. I love that you’re sharing your story with the world, it makes it so real and relatable. I can’t wait to read more!

    Sydney Meek | meeklyloving.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

